Permanent Representation of the RS to the CoE /Newsroom /

New Commissioner for Human Rights of the Council of Europe elected

Strasbourg - Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe elected Nils Muižnieks (Latvia) third Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights at its plenary session in Strasbourg on 24 January 2012.

Mr Muižnieks obtained 120 of the votes cast in the first round, an absolute majority. Frans Timmermans (Netherlands) obtained 92 votes and Pierre-Yves Monette (Belgium) 27.

Mr Muižnieks, currently Chairman of the European Commission against Racism and Intolerance (ECRI), was elected for a non-renewable term of six years starting on 1 April 2012, and will replace Mr. Thomas Hammarberg, whose mandate is coming to an end.