Permanent Representation of the RS to the CoE /Newsroom /

122nd Session of the Committee of Ministers, 23 May 2012

Strasbourg – The 122nd Session of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe will take place on 23 May 2012 in Strasbourg. On behalf of Slovenia, the session will be attended by Dr Božo Cerar, State Secretary at the Ministry for Foreign Affairs.

The Committee of Ministers, with representation of 47 Member States, is the Council of Europe's decision-making body and meets once per year.

During this year's session, the Committee of Ministers will address the topics of securing the long-term effectiveness of the supervisory mechanism of the European Convention on Human Rights, the policy of the Council of Europe towards neighbouring regions, the Council of Europe reform process, overcoming obstacles to human rights protection in areas affected by conflict in Georgia, and human rights protection in Europe.

On this occasion, the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, Thorbjørn Jagland, will present his report on the progress in the implementation and development of the neighbourhood policy and the state of progress and achievements of the Organizations' reform.

The United Kingdom will hand over its Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers to Albania, which will hold it for the next 6 months.