Permanent Representation of the RS to the CoE /Newsroom /

Declaration of the Committee of Ministers on the death penalty

Strasbourg - On 10 October 2012, European and World Day against the death penalty, the Committee of Ministers adopted the declaration on the death penalty. With this declaration it wishes to reaffirm its unequivocal opposition to the death penalty, in all places and in all circumstances.

The Committee of Ministers welcomes the fact that no more executions are carried out on the territory of the member States of the Council of Europe. It encourages countries which still apply the death penalty, including those holding observer status with the Council of Europe, to immediately apply a moratorium on executions as a first step towards abolition. It also calls on all countries in Europe and beyond to support the Resolution on a moratorium on the use of the death penalty which will be put to vote at the 67th session of the United Nations General Assembly in December 2012.

The Declaration especially mentions also joint statement of Mr Thorbjørn Jagland, Secretary General of the Council of Europe and Ms Catherine Ashton, High Representative of the European Union for foreign affairs and security policy, in which they reaffirm their commitment to continue with persistent efforts to promote abolition in Europe and throughout the world.