Permanent Representation of the RS to the CoE /Newsroom /

Slovenia celebrates 20th anniversary of its membership to the Council of Europe

Strasbourg – Council of Europe is the oldest pan-European organisation devoted to the respect of democracy, rule of law and human rights. The Council has 47 members, five observer countries and a number of others countries who are signatories to the various conventions at its disposal.

Slovenia applied for the membership of the Council of Europe on the 29th January 1992, received the guest member status in the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe on 3rd February 1993 and was admitted to the Organisation on 14th May 1993. Since its accession, Slovenia had become a signatory of many of the Council's conventions and took on a role of an active participant in the international community and a strong advocate for the respect of human rights, rights of minorities and Roma and travellers, rights of women and children, rights on the field of bioethics and biomedicine as well as a strong proponent of democracy, rule of law and human rights in South-Eastern Europe. Slovenia has continuously supported the reform of the Council of Europe and the European Court of Human Rights with the aim to adapt the organization for contemporary challenges. Special attention to this has also been given during the Slovenian chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe, which it held from 12th May to 18th November 2009.

Under the sponsorship of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Republic of Slovenia a round table is being held in Ljubljana today under the topic “Council of Europe and Slovenia: two decades of experience and new challenges for the future”.

The 20th anniversary of Slovenian membership to the Council of Europe in Strasbourg will be marked with a ceremony on 10th June with a concert of the Strasbourg Philharmonic Orchestra under the leadership of the Slovenian conductor Marko Letonja and in company of the President of the Republic of Slovenia Borut Pahor.