Permanent Representation of the RS to the CoE /Newsroom /

Turkey to assume Chairmanship of Council of Europe

Strasbourg - On Wednesday 10 November 2010, Turkey will assume the Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe from Macedonia. A special session of the Committee of Ministers' Deputies of the Council of Europe will be organised, which will be attended by Macedonian Minister of Foreign Affairs Antonio Milošoski and Turkish Minister of Foreign Affairs Ahmet Davotoğlu.

In holding the Chairmanship of the Council of Europe, Turkey will strengthen its efforts to promote the organisation within the political structure of Europe. At the same time, it will call on all Member States to be more actively involved in the work of the Council of Europe. A major priority for Turkey's chairmanship will be support of the reform of the organisation led by the Secretary-General of the Council of Europe, Thorbjørn Jagland. Within this priority, the intention is also to support the reform of the European Court of Human Rights and the European Union's accession to the European Convention on Human Rights.

The Turkish chairmanship will end in May 2011 at the 121st Ministerial Conference of the Council of Europe to be held in Istanbul.