Permanent Representation of the RS to the CoE /Newsroom /

Plenary Session of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, 11–15 April 2011

Strasbourg – The spring plenary session of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe will be held from 11 to 15 April 2011 in Strasbourg.

The principle event at the spring plenary session of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe is a debate on the religious dimension of intercultural dialogue. Several prominent religious figures will take the floor, including Patriarch Daniel of Romania; Cardinal Jean-Louis Tauran; President of the Pontifical Council for Inter-religious Dialogue, Vatican; Professor Mehmet Görmez, Chairperson of the Presidency of Religious Affairs of Turkey; Chief Rabbi Berel Lazar; Chief Rabbi of Russia; and Prelate Bernhard Felmberg, Plenipotentiary Representative of the Council of the Evangelical Church in Germany to the Federal Republic of Germany and the EU.

Another highlight of the session will be the address by the Prime Minister of Turkey, Recep Tayyip Erdoğan.

Special attention will also be devoted to the issue of the death penalty in Council of Europe member and observer states, with particular emphasis on the statement by Federico Mayor Zaragoza, President of the International Commission, against the death penalty.

In the light of recent developments in North Africa, the Assembly will decide during the opening of the session to hold a current affairs debate on the mass arrival of migrants, asylum-seekers and refugees on Europe’s southern shores.

The agenda also includes debates on the honouring of obligations and commitments by Georgia, the lowering of the voting age to 16, rural women in Europe, the over-indebtedness of states, and education against violence at school. The Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights will present his annual activity report for 2010.

The following members of the Slovenian Parliament will be participating in the event: Darja Lavtižar Bebler, head of delegation, Dr Peter Verlič, Andreja Rihter, Zmago Jelinčič Plemeniti, and Ljubo Germič.

More information is available here.