Permanent Representation of the RS to the CoE /Newsroom /

121st Session of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe, 10 - 11 May 2011

Strasbourg - The 121st Session of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe, which will be attended by the Slovenian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr Samuel Žbogar, will take place on 10 and 11 May 2011 in Istanbul, Turkey. The Committee of Ministers is the Council of Europe's decision-making body, where Governments of 47 Member States are represented. It meets at the highest level once per year.

Topics related to the current activities of the Council of Europe will be addressed during this year's session, including the report of the Secretary General Thorbjorn Jagland on the reform of the organisation and the implementation of the Strasbourg declaration on Roma, as well as other political activities, like situation in Georgia, and the relations between the Council of Europe and the European Union.

Ministers will discuss issues related to the European Convention on Human Rights and the future of the European Court of Human Rights, based on the outcome of the recent Conference of Justice Ministers in Izmir, as well as neighborhood policy of the Council of Europe in the light of events in Northern Africa. The report of the Group of Eminent Persons, led by former German foreign minister Joschka Fischer will be presented. The report examines the phenomena of raising intolerance in today's Europe and offers some proposals on how to improve living together in the society of 21st century.

Turkey will hand over its Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers to Ukraine, which will hold it for the next 6 months. Slovenia was in Chair in the year 2009.