Permanent Representation of the RS to the CoE /Newsroom /

Minister Žbogar meets Secretary General of the Council of Europe Jagland


Bled – In the course of the Bled Strategic Forum, Slovenian Minister of Foreign Affairs Samuel Žbogar met with the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, Thorbjørn Jagland. The Secretary General is taking part in this year’s forum as a panellist in the discussion ‘Search for a New World Order in the Mediterranean’.

Within the framework of the Council of Europe, at the meeting of the Committee of Ministers this May in Istanbul, the Group of Eminent Persons presented the report ‘Living Together: Combining Diversity and Freedom in 21st-Century Europe’, which was also the topic of the informal meeting organised by the President of the Republic of Slovenia, Dr Danilo Türk, during the Bled Strategic Forum. In terms of content, this is an extremely important and relevant report, as Europe is indeed facing the challenges described by the Group of Eminent Persons.

Minister Žbogar and Secretary General Jagland exchanged views on the course of the reform of the Council of Europe, which Slovenia has consistently supported, and welcomes the excellent work of Secretary General Jagland.

The Secretary General of the Council of Europe since 1 October 2009, Thorbjørn Jagland has overall responsibility for the strategic management of the Council of Europe’s work programme and budget. Overseeing the day-to-day running of the Organisation and the Secretariat, the Secretary General is entrusted with the responsibility of meeting the aim for which the Council of Europe was founded in London on 5 May 1949, which is to achieve greater unity between its members for the purposes of safeguarding and realising the ideals and principles which are their common heritage, and facilitating their economic and social progress.

Between 2005 and 2009, Secretary General Jagland was President of the Storting, the Norwegian Parliament, of which he was a member for fifteen years. He was elected Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, which awards the Nobel Peace Prize every year. Between 1996 and 1997, he was Norway’s Prime Minister and between 2000 and 2001, Minister of Foreign Affairs.